Way down below the ocean!

Atlantis – Donovan (1969) Audio Fidelity SACD FLAC 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Atlantis” was released in the summer of 1969 on Donovan’s seventh studio, Barabajagal. I’ve had various requests for a video to this track through the past few years (thanks Jeannie E. Hess ;-), and I was happy to finally get around to working up something for it. *Sorry to see that the video is currently blocked in 230 countries. 😦

I extracted a high bit FLAC from Audio Fidelity’s Storyteller SACD for this video….hands down the best sounding version of “Atlantis” you’ll ever hear.

This is my second video for a Donovan classic, behind “Season Of The Witch” ….time to start thinking about “Hurdy Gurdy Man”! I hope you enjoy seeing “Atlantis” as never before….. and thanks for watching!

For me at least, any discussion of Donovan’s Atlantis after 1990 would be incomplete without a mention of Goodfellas. I remember first seeing Martin Scorcese’s masterpiece back when it was released in the theaters and thinking then how brilliant and perfect his choice to use the track in the Suite Lounge scenes with Billy Batts…brutal, stupid hoods beating, kicking and stabbing another hood to death while the delicate sounds of Donovan’s ode to the lost beautiful, peaceful, artistic and intellectual city of Atlantis drifted from the jukebox through the bar.

While the majority of the Barabajagal sessions took place in November 1968, “Happiness Runs” and “Where Is She” were recorded the previous May. All of these songs except “Atlantis”, “I Love My Shirt” and “To Susan on the West Coast Waiting” were shelved while Donovan’s Greatest Hits was still high in the charts. “Atlantis” / “I Love My Shirt” was released as a single in November 1968 in the UK. In the US, “To Susan on the West Coast Waiting” / “Atlantis” was eventually released in March 1969. “Atlantis” ended up charting higher than its a-side. Some of the songs recorded were originally meant to be included on the unreleased Moon In Capricorn album.

In May 1969, Mickie Most produced at least one session with Donovan fronting the Jeff Beck Group. “Goo Goo Barabajagal (Love Is Hot)” and “Trudi” resulted from these sessions. There were other songs recorded by Donovan and the Jeff Beck Group, but they remained unreleased until they appeared as bonus tracks on the 2005 UK reissue of the album. Rod Stewart was in the band at this time, but he does not sing lead on any of the songs that were released.

The songs on this album represent all facets of Donovan’s career. Several rockers adorn the album, including the title track, “Trudi”, “The Love Song” and “Superlungs (My Supergirl)”. “I Love My Shirt” updates the sound of Donovan’s children’s music, and there are several slow songs featuring breathy vocals (“Where Is She?”, “To Susan on the West Coast Waiting”) reminiscent of the For Little Ones portion of A Gift from a Flower to a Garden. It is during the Barabajagal sessions that Donovan’s musical vision and work ethic began to diverge from that of producer Mickie Most. The two eventually stopped working together, effectively ending Donovan’s chart success.

[Lyrics]
The continent of Atlantis was an island
Which lay before the great flood
In the area we now call the Atlantic Ocean.
So great an area of land,
That from her western shores
Those beautiful sailors journeyed
To the South and the North Americas with ease,
In their ships with painted sails.
To the East Africa was a neighbour,
Across a short strait of sea miles.
The great Egyptian age is

But a remnant of The Atlantian culture.
The antediluvian kings colonised the world
All the Gods who play in the mythological dramas
In all legends from all lands were from far Atlantis.

Knowing her fate,
Atlantis sent out ships to all corners of the Earth.
On board were the Twelve:

The poet, the physician, The farmer, the scientist,
The magician and the other so-called Gods of our legends.
Though Gods they were –
And as the elders of our time choose to remain blind
Let us rejoice
And let us sing
And dance and ring in the new Hail Atlantis!

Way down below the ocean where I wanna be she may be,
Way down below the ocean where I wanna be she may be,
Way down below the ocean where I wanna be she may be.
Way down below the ocean where I wanna be she may be,
Way down below the ocean where I wanna be she may be.
My antediluvian baby, oh yeah yeah, yeah yeah yeah,
I wanna see you some day
My antediluvian baby, oh yeah yeah, yeah yeah yeah,
My antediluvian baby,
My antediluvian baby, I love you, girl,
Girl, I wanna see you some day.
My antediluvian baby, oh yeah
I wanna see you some day, oh My antediluvian baby.
My antediluvian baby, I wanna see you
My antediluvian baby, gotta tell me where she gone
I wanna see you some day Wake up, wake up, wake up, wake up,
oh yeah Oh club club, down down, yeah
My antediluvian baby, oh yeah yeah yeah yeah

Leave a Reply

