3 favorite songs from Eric Clapton’s Backless album from November 1978.

Promises – Eric Clapton (1978) 24/192 FLAC Remaster 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

Watch Out For Lucy – Eric Clapton (1978) 24/192 FLAC Remaster 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

Golden Ring – Eric Clapton (1978) 24/192 FLAC Remaster 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Promises” was released on Eric Clapton’s sixth studio album Backless, in November 1978.  This is possibly my favorite song Clapton has recorded.

Not too long back I did a few equalizer vids for tracks from Eric’s No Reason To Cry album, and I mentioned Backless as my favorite EC album….always has been always will be! 😉 I’ve always wanted to do concept vids for a couple of tracks, and may yet….till then decided to work up a couple/three equalizer style vids for a few of my favorite tracks in 192/24 FLAC audio. I hope you enjoy these beautiful songs as much as I still do. Thanks for watching!

Produced by Glyn Johns, and released by Polydor Records, Backless reached No. 8 on the pop charts. While the single “Promises” only reached No. 37 in the UK, it was a much bigger success in the US, reaching No. 9 on the Billboard charts.

The follow-up single, “Watch Out for Lucy”, was the B-side of “Promises”, but reached #40 on the Billboard charts on its own merit.

A blue and white scarf worn by Clapton on the album sleeve is believed to be a scarf of West Bromwich Albion Football Club. Clapton is widely believed to be a supporter of the club, despite being born in Ripley, Surrey more than 100 miles away. In recent years he has reportedly been more interested in Chelsea F.C.

[Lyrics]
I don’t care if you never come home,
I don’t mind if you just keep on
Rowing away on a distant sea,
‘Cause I don’t love you and you don’t love me.

You cause a commotion when you come to town;
You give ’em a smile and they melt.
Having lovers and friends is all good and fine,
But I don’t like yours and you don’t like mine.

La la, la la la la la.
La la, la la la la la.

I don’t care what you do at night,
Oh, and I don’t care how you get your delights.
I’m gonna leave you alone, I’ll just let it be,
I don’t love you and you don’t love me.

I got a problem. Can you relate?
I got a woman calling love hate.
We made a vow we’d always be friends.
How could we know that promises end?

[Bridge]

I tried to love you for years upon years,
You refuse to take me for real.
It’s time you saw what I want you to see,
And I’d still love you if you’d just love me.

[Chorus]

[Bridge 2x]

“Watch Out For Lucy” was released on Eric Clapton’s sixth studio album Backless, in November 1978.

 

[Lyrics]
Now my friend Bill was just a working lad
And he liked to have his fun.
He’d like to find a girl and get comfortable
When his working day was done.

He would spend all his money on a Friday night,
Wake up in the morning broke,
But he had a run in with little Lucy then;
Believe me that ain’t no joke.

[Chorus:]
Watch out for Lucy,
Though she may look frail.
Say excuse me, Lucy,
Darling don’t you use me;
I don’t want to land in jail.

She started out working in a cafe,
Picking money up on the side.
She was free and easy, everybody’s friend,
But she couldn’t be satisfied.

So now in walks Bill with his cash in his hand,
His heart upon his sleeve.
We tried to warn him about her ways,
We never did succeed.

[Chorus]

Well, the trap was sprung for poor old Bill;
You should have heard little Lucy sing
“I want a Cadillac car, a beautiful home,
And a thousand dollar ring.”

They found our hero in the gutter
With a diamond ring and a gun.
He’d done it for the love of Lucy
And ended up on the run.

[Chorus 2x]

“Golden Ring” was released on Eric Clapton’s sixth studio album Backless, in November 1978.

Produced by Glyn Johns, and released by Polydor Records, Backless reached No. 8 on the pop charts. While the single “Promises” only reached No. 37 in the UK, it was a much bigger success in the US, reaching No. 9 on the Billboard charts.

The follow-up single, “Watch Out for Lucy”, was the B-side of “Promises”, but reached #40 on the Billboard charts on its own merit.

[Lyrics][Chorus]
He gave to you a golden ring
It made you happy, it made you sing
And I played for you on my guitar
It did not last long, we did not go far

[Verse 1]
And though the times have changed
We are rearranged
Will the ties that bind remain the same?

You came around after a while
Everyone said that I made you smile
It all went well, and suddenly then
You heard that he would marry again

[Chorus]

[Verse 2]
Well I know that I have been here before
I have trod on your wings, I have opened the door
If I gave to you a golden ring
Would I make you happy, would I make you sing?

[Chorus][x2]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

