Shake it, baby, don’t break it

Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five – Paul McCartney & Wings (1973) HD Flac HD Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five” was released on Paul McCartney and Wings’ third studio album, Band on the Run, in December of 1973. A brilliant track from one of the true masterpiece solo Beatle album. Play this one loud on good headphones or audio rig for full effect!

The video features the wild “Lullaby of Broadway” short film-within-a-film (from Busby Berkeley’s 1935 film “Gold Diggers of 1935”), which I edited for the track (the audio is sourced from a 96KHz/24bit HD FLAC of the 2010 Archive Edition Remaster Edition). I tried to clean up the low-res video I had, stretched it for widescreen and gave it the bluish tint for effect. Stay calm and party on like it’s Nineteen Hundred and Thirty-Fi…I mean EIGHTY-FIVE! 😉

Band on the Run marked the fifth album by Paul McCartney since his departure from the Beatles in April 1970. Although sales were modest initially, its commercial performance was aided by two hit singles – “Jet” and “Band on the Run” – such that it became the top-selling studio album of 1974 in the United Kingdom and Australia, in addition to revitalizing McCartney’s critical standing. It remains McCartney’s most successful album and the most celebrated of his post-Beatles works.

The majority of Band on the Run was recorded at EMI’s studio in Lagos, Nigeria, as McCartney wanted to make an album in an exotic locale. Shortly before departing for Lagos, however, drummer Denny Seiwell and guitarist Henry McCullough left the group; with no time to recruit replacements, McCartney went into the studio with just his wife Linda and Denny Laine, doubling on drums, percussion and most of the lead guitar parts himself as well as bass. On arriving, it was discovered that the studio was below standard, and conditions in Nigeria were tense and difficult; the McCartneys were robbed at knife-point, during which a bag containing unfinished song lyrics and demo tapes was taken. After the band’s return to England, final overdubs and further recording were carried out at AIR Studios in London.

In 2000, Q magazine placed it at number 75 in its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”. In 2012, Band on the Run was voted 418th on Rolling Stone’s revised list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. A contemporary review by Jon Landau in Rolling Stone described the album as “with the possible exception of John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band, the finest record yet released by any of the four musicians who were once called the Beatles”.
It was Paul McCartney’s last album issued on the Apple label.

More about the video:
The “Lullaby of Broadway” sequence tells the story of Broadway Baby who plays all night and sleeps all day. It opens with a head shot of singer Wini Shaw against a black background, then the camera pulls back and up, and Shaw’s head becomes the Big Apple, New York City. As everyone rushes off to work, Shaw returns home from her night’s carousing and goes to sleep. When she awakens, that night, we follow her and her beau (Dick Powell) from club to club, with elaborate large cast tap numbers, until she is accidentally pushed off a balcony to her death. The sequence ends with a return to Shaw’s head, as she sings the end of the song. Of all the musical numbers Berkeley created in his career, he named this as his personal favorite.

[Lyrics]

On no one left alive in 1985, will ever do
She may be right
She may be fine
She may get love but she won’t get mine
‘Cause I got you
Oh, oh I, oh oh I
Well I just can’t enough of that sweet stuff
My little lady gets behind
(Shake it, baby, don’t break it)
Oh my mama said the time would come
When I would find myself in, love with you
I didn’t think
I never dreamed
That I would be around, to see it all come true
Whoa oh oh I, oh oh I
Well I just can’t get enough of that sweet stuff
My little lady gets behind
Ah no one left alive in 1985, will ever do
She may be right
She may be fine
She may get love but she won’t get mine
‘Cause I got you
Oh oh I, oh oh I
Well I just can’t get enough of that sweet stuff
My little lady left behind
Leave a Reply

