From Bob Seger’s classic 1976 Night Moves album…”Ship of Fools”

Ship of Fools – Bob Seger (1976) FLAC Remaster HD Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Ship Of Fools” was released on the album Night Moves in October of 1976. The album was the ninth by Bob Seger, and his first with The Silver Bullet Band.

Although the front cover only credits backing by the Silver Bullet Band, four of the nine songs on the album feature backing by the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section…which i doubt anyone would doubt didn’t have the effect of taking an already great album up a notch or two.

I remember buying this album and listening to it back when it was released and it was such a stand-out then because I was listening to mostly prog and hard rock during that period…and it was just such a beautiful sounding, soulful record…it was one of the records that pretty much stayed standing up next to my turntable (I waxed way poetic on that turntable in the description for my “Night Moves” video already! LOL!) for many months, because I played it so frequently. It’s a very special record to me and I love it still.

This is my second video for a track from the album (the first being something I tried for “Night Moves”…which i think is pretty awful now….I really need to remake that one! Yikes!!!!) I actually made the main effect (couple of variations of the ship lights over the album cover) around the time I made the “Night Moves” video, but I stopped working on the video for “Ship of Fools” because I found that is was blocked pretty much everywhere, so those clips sat around without a video to fill them out until I was thrilled to find out a couple months back that it was being allowed to play, so I set about finishing this video. Night Moves is one of those albums that I could easily be inspired to make a video for every single song. I hope you enjoy this one and thanks for watching!

Popular music critic Robert Christgau wrote that the riffs on Night Moves are classic rock and roll riffs, like those performed by Chuck Berry or the Rolling Stones, and that the album is about rock and roll for those who are no longer in their teens, like the song “Rock and Roll Never Forgets”.

The Rolling Stone review of the album by Kit Rachlis stated that the album is one of the best to come out of 1976-77, that Seger sounds like Rod Stewart and writes lyrics like Bruce Springsteen, and that album is classic rock and roll. The only problem that Rachlis had with the album was the production not being strong enough. A later review of the album by Stephen Thomas Erlewine for Allmusic says that the album was very similar to Beautiful Loser, but Night Moves is harder than Beautiful Loser. Erlewine also feels that the album has a wide range of styles and has not lost any of its influence years later.

The album was well received by critics and gave Bob Seger nationwide success. Three singles were released from the album, with two of them making the top 40 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album became Seger’s second to become certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America and was his first to be certified platinum by the same association. It later achieved a certification of sextuple platinum.

[Lyrics]
“Tell me quick” said Old McFee
“What’s this all have to do with me?”
“I’ve spent all my time at sea a loner.”

“Is there something else I should know?”
“Something hidden down below the level of your conversation?”
Well he turned away before the answer
Though I yelled aloud he refused to hear
It became to clear
So it went as we put out
I was left in constant doubt
Everything I asked about seemed private

The captain strolled the bridge one night
I stopped him in the evening light
To ask him would it be all right to join him

But he stood there like some idol
And he listened like some temple
And then he turned away

All along the fateful coast
We moved silent like a ghost
The timeless sea of tireless host possessed us
The wind came building from the cold northwest
And soon the waves began to crest
Crashing cross the forward deck
All hands lost

I alone survived the sinking
I alone possessed the tools
On that ship of fools

Leave a Reply

