Kid – The Pretenders (1980) 192kHz/24bit FLAC 1080p Video

Kid – The Pretenders (1980) 192kHz/24bit FLAC 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Kid” was released on The Pretenders debut studio album, Pretenders, on 7 January 1980 under Real Records (Sire Records in the US). So glad I grew up in the age of vinyl…I’ll always remember it as the opening track of side two….who else is with me here? LOL!

This video edits the shorter video performance to the longer studio track, which was sources from a 192kHz/24bit FLAC source. Happy to once again be able to work a truncated performance clip to the full album track….even if not too many people notice this kind of work, it’s always a fulfilling experience to be able to create a full, high resolution video experience from a crappy sounding, incomplete performance video! I hope you enjoy the thing!

This album was special, so special 🙂 for those of us who were growing up in those days. I guess most guys like myself who were serious rock music fans were all in love with Chrissie for the first half of the 80’s…..I mean, thinking who would be her equal for this generation of “music” lovers?….uh, no one….cause not only was she pretty, she wrote most of her band’s songs, and played a great rhythm guitar as well!

Speaking of guitar, it’s James Honeyman-Scott’s great, unique solo on this song that always makes me want to play it first among an album of fantastic tunes. He died when he was only 25 from a drug overdose…I remember reading the news and thinking what a shame to lose such a genius guitar player….he’s still considered by some as the last really great guitar hero. (James died of heart failure caused by cocaine intolerance two days after original bassist Peter Granville “Pete” Farndon was fired from the band for becoming increasingly difficult to work with due to his drug usage….Pete himself would overdose less than a year later.)

A combination of rock, punk and pop music, this album made the band famous. The album features the singles “Stop Your Sobbing”, “Kid” and “Brass in Pocket”.

Nick Lowe produced the Pretenders’ first single, “Stop Your Sobbing”, but decided not to work with them again as he thought the band was “not going anywhere”. Chris Thomas took over on the subsequent recording sessions.

Pretenders debuted at number 1 on the UK Albums Chart in the week of its release and stayed there for four consecutive weeks. It also made the top 10 on the Billboard 200 and was certified Platinum during 1982 by the RIAA. Pretenders has been named one of the best albums of all time by VH1 (#52). In 2003, Rolling Stone magazine ranked the album number 155 on its list of the 500 greatest albums of all time, and, in 1989, ranked it the 20th best album of the 1980s. In 2012, Slant Magazine listed the album at #64 on its list, “Best Albums of the 1980s”.

Pretenders was remastered and re-released in 2006 and included a bonus disc of demos, B-sides and live cuts, many previously unreleased. “Cuban Slide” and “Porcelain” originally appeared as B-sides to “Talk of the Town” and “Message of Love”, while “Swinging London” and “Nervous But Shy” both appeared on the flip side of “Brass in Pocket”. The Regents Park Demo of “Stop Your Sobbing” was included initially as a flexi-single in the May 1981 edition of Flexipop magazine. The tracks “Message of Love”, “Talk of the Town”, “Porcelain” and “Cuban Slide” alongside a live version of the album’s opening track, “Precious”, were released on a follow-up EP entitled Extended Play soon after.

[Lyrics]
Kid what changed your mood
You’ve gone all sad so I feel sad too
I think I know some things we never outgrow
You think it’s wrong
I can tell you do
How can I explain
When you don’t want me to

Kid my only kid
You look so small you’ve gone so quiet
I know you know what I’m about
I won’t deny it
But you forgive though you don’t understand
You’ve turned your head
You’ve dropped by hand

All my sorrow, all my blues
All my sorrow

Shut the light, go away
Full of grace, you cover your face

Kid gracious kid
Your eyes are blue but you won’t cry
I know angry tears are too dear
You won’t let them go

Leave a Reply

