Find seven houses soaked in gin To console me…Robin Trower’s “I Can’t Wait Much Longer” from 1973.

I Can’t Wait Much Longer – Robin Trower (1973) FLAC Remaster 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“I Can’t Wait Much Longer” was the opening track on Robin Trower’s first solo album, Twice Removed From Yesterday, which was released in March of 1973. This is an update for my original video https://youtu.be/kHXmsI_HwaE …now featuring a FLAC source track from A Tale Untold: The Chrysalis Years (1973-1976) and new video effects. I have been so busy with my real job that I haven’t had much time to play with videos….about all I can find the energy to do is update my old videos since the effort requires less thought and energy! 🙂 This wasn’t as awful a video as some of my old ones seem to me now, but it needed the high resolution audio…..hopefully the effort in reworking the old ones isn’t a total waste of time and some fans who missed the early one (when my channel was sooooo young! 😉 will now find the new one?!

Going to update my “Bridge of Sighs” video soon as well as it was basically an extension of this one…see if I can make it more worthy of that deep, dark, epic classic track? Stay tuned…..and thanks for watching!

The band, consisting of Trower on guitar, Reg Isidore on drums, and James Dewar on vocals and bass is consistently masterful on this record. Robin Trower is my 4th favorite guitarist (following Gilmour, Knopfler, Harrison) and although he has been extremely successful, it seems that not enough people have actually listened to his catalog….or surely his accomplishments with his playing would be held in even higher regard. Also of note is the powerful vocal work by James Dewar….always so full of soul and elegance…..just one of the best rock vocalists ever.

This song is definitely one of my all time fav Robin Trower tunes…..I first came across this song on the first Robin Trower record I heard, Robin Trower Live, which I became familiar with as a freshman in High School and a friend had the 8-track. Used to drive him crazy fast-forwarding/reversing his deck to find this song! I purchased the LP shortly after that, and began buying the older Robin Trower records….when I heard the original, I at first didn’t care for it nearly as much as the live version, guess it was simply because I had the other version ingrained in my memory so deeply?….but I subsequently warmed up to it and now I prefer it over the live version.

Album info from AllMusic: Robin Trower’s debut solo album was the first evidence that the Fender Stratocaster sound of Jimi Hendrix could be effectively replicated and even refabricated. And like Hendrix, Trower had paid his dues as a more-or-less backup musician, his former band Procol Harum having emphasized stately organ and piano rather than guitar. After leaving his old group, Trower experimented with different musicians and ideas for several years, which paid off when he finally released Twice Removed From Yesterday, a record that displayed the characteristics that would make him a guitar hero and stadium attraction of the mid-’70s. He de-emphasized the Hendrix fuzz, feedback, and distortion, and let the reverb from his Strat become his dominant tonal device. He wasn’t as flamboyant as Hendrix, as earthy as Eric Clapton, or as unpredictable as Jeff Beck, but he played cleanly, emphasizing singular, effective notes, and he brought a melodicism and creativity to the electric blues. His style is best suited for the slow, somber blues of songs like “Daydream” and “I Can’t Wait Much Longer,” where his solos are both carefully structured and melodic. The most intriguing tune on the album is the title track, a nugget of ’70s-style psychedelic rock that showed Trower to be a pretty good songwriter. The best aspects of Twice Removed would come to full flowering on his next album, Bridge of Sighs, but this debut showed Trower to be an effective interpreter of the Hendrix sound, and not just what numerous others who came in his wake would prove to be: mere imitators.

[Lyrics]
Now baby needs the diamond sky
Caviar and the moon light wine
She hasn’t yet made up her mind
If she’ll take me

See my love it’s stoned and deep
Wrap my future at your feet
For a simple life where love asleep
You can take me

’cause every day gets stronger
And everyday it grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer

Round and round in dreams I go
Set me free baby or tie the bow
Up or down let me know
But don’t ignore me!

’cause everyday gets stronger
And everyday it grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer
Every day gets stronger
And everyday grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer
Now listen, I’ll get my coat and I’ll catch a train
and make my way down to New Orleans
Find seven houses soaked in gin
To console me
’cause every day gets stronger
Everyday grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer
Every day gets stronger
Everyday grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer
Every day gets stronger
And Everyday grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer
Every day gets stronger
And Everyday grows and grows
And I can’t wait much longer

Leave a Reply

