Somehow I feel inside You never ever left my side….Blamin’ it all on the nights on Broadway

Nights On Broadway – Bee Gees (1975) 2013 Japan Remaster FLAC 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

“Nights On Broadway” was released in the summer of 1975 on the Bee Gees’ 13th studio album, Main Course. One of my all-time Top 10 Bee Gees songs!

Watch this video in 1080p with headphones and hear how much more there is to the song if you’ve ever only heard it on the radio! Wow….fat fat sounds and vocal gymnastics, a brilliant production!

This is a very special song for me. It was one of those songs that seemed to usher me from middle school into high school and all drama life would have throw at us all after we left that cocoon of childhood happiness where days were endless and nights carefree and filled with friends and fun. “Nights On Broadway” always sounded like more a sad song that what the title and lyrics suggest, after all these years it’s become somehow even sadder for me to listen to, I guess because it’s such a powerful time machine to a period in my life when I was younger…..crazy how music can transport?!

The video is simple and effective, I believe. The Bee Gees are a band that I’ve always loved (even when they were testing me at the height of the disco era), and I can’t believe this is only my second video (I’ve finished!) for one of their songs? They were brilliant songwriters and amazing performers.

This was the last album to be released by Atlantic Records in the US under its distribution deal with Robert Stigwood. This album marked a change for the Bee Gees as it was their first album to include disco influenced songs, and it created the model for their output through the rest of the 1970s. Main Course was the first album to feature keyboardist Blue Weaver. The album cover with the band’s new logo designed by US artist Drew Struzan made its first appearance here.

According to producer Arif Mardin, when the Bee Gees arrived in Florida, they started to record new materials and some of the numbers were still in their old ballad style, and the Bee Gees at that time listening a lot of American R&B groups’ songs as Mardin is a R&B producer. Mardin also suggested they listen to current R&B artists including Stevie Wonder.

The sound became more technological with the use of synthesizers and dual bass lines (synthesizer bass by Blue Weaver and bass guitar by Maurice Gibb) on many of the songs, which came about after Weaver overdubbed a synthesizer bass line on the original demo of “Jive Talkin’.” Weaver later commented that “nothing new has been invented to make such a tremendous difference to the sound as the synthesizer did, compared to an orchestra.”

[Lyrics]
Here we are in the room full of strangers,
Standing in the dark where your eyes couldn’t see me

Well, I have to follow you
Though you didn’t want me to.
But that won’t stop my lovin’ you
I can’t stay away

Blaming it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them love songs,
Singin’ them straight to the heart songs.
Blamin’ it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them sweet sounds
To that crazy, crazy town.

Now in my place
There are so many others
Standin’ in the line;
How long will they stand between us?

Well, I have to follow you
Though you didn’t want me to.
But that won’t stop my lovin’ you
I can’t stay away

Blaming it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them love songs,
Singin’ them straight to the heart songs.
Blamin’ it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them sweet sounds
To that crazy, crazy town.

I will wait,
even if it takes forever;
I will wait,
even if it takes a life time.
Somehow I feel inside
You never ever left my side.
Make it like it was before
Even if it takes a life time, takes a life time.

Blaming it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them love songs,
Singin’ them straight to the heart songs.
Blamin’ it all on the nights on Broadway
Singin’ them sweet sounds
To that crazy, crazy town.

Leave a Reply

