You can check out anytime you like… but you can never leave”

Hotel California – The Eagles (1976) 24bit FLAC Remaster HD 1080p Video ~MetalGuruMessiah~

Hotel California was released by The Eagles on their fifth studio album, Hotel California, in the winter of 1976. Writing credits for the song are shared by Don Felder (music), Don Henley, and Glenn Frey (lyrics). The Eagles’ original recording of the song features Henley singing the lead vocals and concludes with an extended section of electric guitar interplay between Felder and Joe Walsh.

The song is considered the most famous recording of the band, and its long guitar coda has been voted the best guitar solo of all time. The song was awarded the Grammy Award for Record of the Year in 1978. The lyrics of the song have been given various interpretations by fans and critics alike, the Eagles themselves described the song as their “interpretation of the high life in Los Angeles”. In the 2013 documentary History of the Eagles, Henley said that the song was about “a journey from innocence to experience…that’s all”.

This is a video update to correct my oft pointed out transgression of not using video footage featuring the original guitarist Don Felder. I was tempted to go full-on American Horror Story but too far in that direction would shift focus…still I couldn’t resist putting Sarah Paulson into it….the greatest thing about American Horror Story and one of the best actresses I’ve ever seen. This one includes true lossless audio source where the other was compressed…you may notice quite a difference in sound, especially on good headphones (we’ve spoken about this?! LOL!).

This album brings back very special memories for me of my high school year, and so I wanted to dedicate the effort to my classmates from my old high school in Texas.

The original: https://youtu.be/0baP5noUJGY

After spending quite a bit of time searching, the best “Hotel Californiaish” hotel I could find to work with wasn’t a hotel at all…it’s Stetson Law University in Florida!

HUGE THANKS TO:
History of the Eagles (Including Eagles Live at the Capital Centre March 1977 performance). Buy this on Bluray and watch the whole thing in glorious HD with amazing sound: http://www.amazon.com/History-Eagles-Blu-ray/dp/B00BSBUZT6

The Painted Veil II
by ~miss-baudelaire\~miss-baudelaire
http://miss-baudelaire.deviantart.com/
&
Dark Lady
Charlotte Anderson Photography
http://www.culturelabel.com/shop/c/charlotte-anderson-photography/

….for their amazing “Hotel California ladies”

Stetson Law University (for “hotel california”)
http://www.law.stetson.edu/

…and OF COURSE EVERYONE ELSE who’s art made this new art possible…..THANK YOU!!!!

[Lyrics]
On a dark desert highway,
Cool wind in my hair,
Warm smell of “colitas”
Rising up through the air,
Up ahead in the distance
I saw a shimmering light,
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim,
I had to stop for the night.

There she stood in the doorway,
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinkin’ to myself :
“This could be heaven and this could be hell”
Then she lit up a candle,
And she showed me the way,
There were voices down the corridor,
I thought I heard them say

Welcome to the Hotel California,
Such a lovely place, (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face
Plenty of room at the Hotel California,
Any time of year, (Any time of year) You can find it here

Her mind is Tiffany-twisted,
She got the Mercedes BENZ
She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys
she calls friends
How they dance in the courtyard,
Sweet summer sweat
Some dance to remember,
Some dance to forget

So I called up the Captain
“Please bring me my wine”
He said, “We haven’t had that spirit here
Since nineteen sixty-nine”
And still those voices are calling from far away,
Wake you up in the middle of the night
Just to hear them say:

Welcome to the Hotel California,
Such a lovely place, (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face
They’re livin’ it up at the Hotel California,
What a nice surprise, (What a nice surprise) Bring your alibis

Mirrors on the ceiling,
The pink champagne on ice, and she said:
“We are all just prisoners here,
Of our own device”
And in the master’s chambers
They gathered for the feast,
They stabbed it with their steely knives,
But they just can’t kill the beast

Last thing I remember, I was running for the door,
I had to find the passage back to the place I was before,
“Relax,” said the night man, “We are programmed to receive,
You can check out anytime you like… but you can never leave”

(Guitar Solo Until End)

Thumb1Thumb3Thumb4Thumb5

Leave a Reply

