Time waits for no one at all…….No, not even you

 

Driftwood – The Moody Blues (1978) Remastered FLAC HD Video

“Driftwood” was released on The Moody Blues’ ninth album, Octave, in June of 1978. Some recent comments on my other videos (in particular, an especially passionate one from possibly an even greater fan of the album than myself!….this video dedicated to that insanely dedicated fan!) from this album have resulted in the completion of this one being expedited….awesome to hear from fans that share love for the stuff you love?! πŸ™‚

This is the third Moody Blues track I’ve made a video for, and the third from Octave….my very favorite Moody Blues album and one of my top albums of 1978. I’ve spoken about my love for this record on the other videos (“Steppin’ In A Slide Zone” & “The Day We Meet Again”) so I won’t say much more about it, only to repeat that it is truly an exceptional effort by the group. Still a couple of tracks to do from this record and then I can happily move on to some favorite tracks from non-Octave Moody Blues albums! πŸ˜‰

This video uses the promo video (which was created for the 3:57 minute single version that lacks the wonderful, long instrumental section before the song’s end) and features video effects to make it look better in 1080p….also stretching it with edits and effects to fill the full 5:03 minute album version The audio source is lossless flac remastered version released on the “Timeless Flight” box from 2013.

Interesting to note that the promotional video features Patrick Moraz on the keyboards, although Mike Pinder is playing the keyboards in the actual recording. The song also includes an alto saxophone which is played by session musician R.A. Martin, although Ray Thomas is depicted playing the alto saxophone in the video.

As always HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art made this new art possible….THANK YOU!!!! Hope YOU enjoy the video and thanks for watching!

[Lyrics]
Just like the driftwood of a dream
Left on the seashore of sleep
Just like the words that wouldn’t rhyme
Lost in the desert of time

Time waits for no one at all
No, not even you
You thought you’d seen it all before
You really thought you knew

I don’t remember what was said
In the confusion that night
I only know what’s on my mind
What’s in the future, we will decide

Time waits for no one at all
No, not even you
You thought you’d seen it all before
You really thought you knew

I’ve shattered the illusion of fortune and of fame
But darling, now I know you
Life could never be the same
Oh no, don’t leave me driftwood on the shore

Time waits for no one my love
No, not even you
You thought you’d seen it all before
You really thought you knew

I’ve shattered the illusion of fortune and of fame
I’m waking up, I’m reaching up
I’m getting up from this game
Oh no, don’t leave me driftwood on the shore

Oh no, don’t, don’t leave me driftwood on the shore
Oh no, don’t, don’t leave me driftwood on the shore

Leave a Reply

