Everything is clear in my heart

“Oh My Love” was released on John Lennon’s second solo album, Imagine, in September of 1971. For me, Imagine contains 4 or 5 of the most out of this world gorgeous songs every recorded….songs I’ve listened to hundreds of times and they only get more amazing and beautiful the more you listen to them…..”Oh My Love” is one of those tracks.

As with all John Lennon’s earlier solo recordings, what is there really left to say about this song? Listening to it along with the other John Lennon & The Beatles catalog, it is easy to kinda take it for granted as just another brilliantly written and performed song…but when you pull it out and listen to it on it’s own you’ll find (as with many of those other tracks) an absolutely brilliant and magnificent song of such immense beauty and power that it lays waste most everything around it. Most artists would be able to die peacefully if they wrote just ONE song as great as “Oh My Love”…..John wrote dozens. This was the single song from Imagine with writing credits “Lennon/Ono”.

Lately I’ve been kinda slow on the vid releases because I’ve got so many things started and can’t seem to focus on one or two to finish….tried to finish a couple last night but then just decided to start something quick from scratch (I had already worked some paint effects on an old butterfly clip for another video I’m updating @ beginning and 1:26)….a few quick effects and this one was finished in less than 3 hours late last night. (I might try a quick experiment and plug a McCartney song and art into this foundation and see what happens…mainly ’cause it would be an excuse to avoid the video logger-jam I been stuck in! 😉

Hope you enjoy it and thanks for watching!

More about the album from Wiki: Imagine is the second studio album by John Lennon. Recorded and released in 1971, the album is more heavily produced in contrast to the basic, raw arrangements of his previous album, the critically acclaimed John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. The album is considered the most popular of his works and the title track is considered one of Lennon’s finest songs. In 2012, Imagine was voted 80th on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.

The album was issued by Apple on 9 September 1971 in the United States and a month later, on 8 October, in the UK. Early editions of the LP included a postcard featuring a photo of Lennon holding a pig, in mockery of McCartney’s similar pose with a sheep on the cover of Ram. It was also originally released in quadraphonic. “Imagine”, backed with “It’s So Hard”, was released as a single, in the US on 11 October 1971. The album went to number 1 worldwide and became an enduring seller, with the title track reaching number 3 in the United States. “Imagine” would not be issued as a single in Britain until four years later, to coincide with the release of Lennon’s Shaved Fish singles collection.

[Lyrics]
Oh my love for the first time in my life
My eyes are wide open
Oh my lover for the first time in my life
My eyes can see

I see the wind, oh I see the trees
Everything is clear in my heart
I see the clouds, oh I see the sky
Everything is clear in our world

Oh my love for the first time in my life
My mind is wide open
Oh my lover for the first time in my life
My mind can feel

I feel sorrow, oh I feel dreams
Everything is clear in my heart
I feel life, oh I feel love
Everything is clear in our world

Leave a Reply

