Hotel California one more time for Glenn! (1948 – 2016)

Hotel California – The Eagles (1976) HD SACD Remaster HD 1080p Video

Hotel California was released by The Eagles on their fifth studio album, Hotel California, in the winter of 1976.

On a dark desert highway,
Cool wind in my hair,
Warm smell of “colitas”
Rising up through the air,
Up ahead in the distance
I saw a shimmering light,
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim,
I had to stop for the night.

There she stood in the doorway,
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinkin’ to myself :
“This could be heaven and this could be hell”
Then she lit up a candle,
And she showed me the way,
There were voices down the corridor,
I thought I heard them say

Welcome to the Hotel California,
Such a lovely place, (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face
Plenty of room at the Hotel California,
Any time of year, (Any time of year) You can find it here

Her mind is Tiffany-twisted,
She got the Mercedes BENZ
She got a lot of pretty, pretty boys
she calls friends
How they dance in the courtyard,
Sweet summer sweat
Some dance to remember,
Some dance to forget

So I called up the Captain
“Please bring me my wine”
He said, “We haven’t had that spirit here
Since nineteen sixty-nine”
And still those voices are calling from far away,
Wake you up in the middle of the night
Just to hear them say:

Welcome to the Hotel California,
Such a lovely place, (Such a lovely place) Such a lovely face
They’re livin’ it up at the Hotel California,
What a nice surprise, (What a nice surprise) Bring your alibis

Mirrors on the ceiling,
The pink champagne on ice, and she said:
“We are all just prisoners here,
Of our own device”
And in the master’s chambers
They gathered for the feast,
They stabbed it with their steely knives,
But they just can’t kill the beast

Last thing I remember, I was running for the door,
I had to find the passage back to the place I was before,
“Relax,” said the night man, “We are programmed to receive,
You can check out anytime you like… but you can never leave”

(Guitar Solo Until End)

This album brings back very special memories for me of my high school year, and so I wanted to dedicate the effort to my classmates from my old high school in Texas.

I’d been wanting try and do something for “Hotel California” for a very long time….the imagery of the song is so unique and I thought it might be interesting to try and capture something. Anyway, I tried to make something that I always wanted to see for this song….palms, dark highway, lightning, hotel’s, candles, mission bells, that mysterious lady in the doorway….and of course even more palms blowing in the wind! 😉

Actually it’s not exactly what I tried to do, there were some really cool mask effects I was playing with (band jamming in the various doors and windows in the album art…but tracking was brutal and I gave up), and of course, it really needed more time and work to mix up the existing/repeat effects, but as usual by the time I could have done such fine tuning…I just wanted it done! LOL! As with most of my videos…..it’ll never compete with the single album art and/or crappy sounding versions so I resign myself to just getting it close since it ain’t gonna matter anyway. But if you are taking the time to check it out and read this……THANKS so much for watching….I really hope you enjoy the effort.

After spending quite a bit of time searching, the best “Hotel Californiaish” hotel I could find to work with wasn’t a hotel at all…it’s Stetson Law University in Florida!

HUGE THANKS TO:
NBC (wonderful live clips of the band performing the song)

The Painted Veil II
by ~miss-baudelaire\~miss-baudelaire
http://miss-baudelaire.deviantart.com/
&
Dark Lady
Charlotte Anderson Photography
http://www.culturelabel.com/shop/c/ch…

….for their amazing “Hotel California ladies”

Stetson Law University (for “hotel california”)
http://www.law.stetson.edu/

…and OF COURSE EVERYONE ELSE who’s art made this new art possible…..THANK YOU!!!!

By MetalGuruMessiah

Leave a Reply

