INXS’ “Never Tear Us Apart” (1987) Remastered Video and Audio

Never Tear Us Apart – INXS (1987) Deluxe Edition FLAC Remaster HD Video

“Never Tear Us Apart” was released on the sixth studio album from INXS, KIck, in October of 1987.

Was playing with a new video for an older INXS track when I realized that it had been 28 years this month since Kick was released! It sure didn’t seem like that long ago when we were all deep into this great great album?! It got me thinking about my favorite trac from the album (and one of my absolute INXS favs period!) the beautiful and sounds as great today as it did nearly 30 years ago, “Never Tear Us Apart”.

I remember the video for “Never Tear Us Apart” was pretty great and it looked wonderful back in the day when it was on MTV so often. I had thought before about trying to work with some filters and adjust the color saturation to pull out the blues, orange/yellows, and browns that were definitely buried in there….so I decided to at least satisfy my curiosity an play with it a bit to see what it might look like. Of course I had to use more noise reduction to make it look better in 1080p, but in the end I think the colors ended up about as I expected they would…it’s an interesting compare/contrast to the original….and I think the newly saturated/filtered colors plus the remastered source track from the 2012 Deluxe remaster make this “Never Tear Us Apart” worthy of your consideration. (The original video featured an additional 15 seconds or so of music intro before the studio track…and I wanted to keep both the audio and video….so I had to transition from original video audio track into the remastered studio track.)

One of my first “epic” 😉 videos was for another of my favorite INXS songs, the much more obscure “Johnson’s Aeroplane”….check it if you are so inclined…it’s a wonderful and unusual tune; https://youtu.be/CXqtmaz_0Aw (I’ll be updating the audio/video for this one in the not too distant future).

As the band’s most successful studio album, it is certified six times platinum by the RIAA, and spawned four US top 10 singles, “New Sensation”, “Never Tear Us Apart”, “Devil Inside” and “Need You Tonight”, the last of which reached the top of the Billboard singles charts. At the 1988 MTV Video Music Awards, the band took home five Moonmen for the “Need You Tonight”/”Mediate” video.

The album was produced by Chris Thomas and recorded by David Nicholas in Sydney, Australia and in Paris. The album was mixed by Bob Clearmountain at Air Studios in London.

AllMusic’s Steve Huey described the album as “an impeccably crafted pop tour de force, the band succeeding at everything they try”. Robert Christgau describes INXS as “silly middlebrow hacks” but acknowledges that Kick delivered “danceable rock and roll that sounds smart in the background”. BBC Music’s Cormac Heron reviewed the 2004 deluxe edition, “superfluous second disc notwithstanding, this is a near flawless collection of songs” and felt that the “production still sounds fresh and the song-writing partnership of Hutchence/Farriss wins you over with an anthemic glory”. Australian rock music historian, Ian McFarlane, advises that “it became the band’s most enduring release by mixing the hard rock sound of Thieves with a looser approach to dance grooves”.

[Lyrics]
Don’t ask me
What you know is true
Don’t have to tell you
I love your precious heart
I
I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided
And they could never tear us apart
We could live
For a thousand years
But if I hurt you
I’d make wine from your tears
I told you
That we could fly
‘Cause we all have wings
But some of us don’t know why
I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided
And they could never ever tear us apart
I
I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided
And they could never tear us apart
You were standing
I was there
Two worlds collided
And they could never tear us apart
I
I was standing
You were there
Two worlds collided

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb4 Thumb6 Thumb7 Thumb8 Thumb9 Thumb10

Leave a Reply

