And I guess it was only a summer love.. Nothing too serious and nothing to last…Oh Baby, I feel like your fool to be longing for that lyin’ summer love

(Only A) Summer Love (Live) – REO Speedwagon (1977) FLAC Audio Remaster 1080p

For Gary Richrath: Thanks for all the joy you brought to my youth with your incredible music….it wouldn’t have been the same without it! 🙂 RIP

“(Only A) Summer Love” was originally released on REO Speedwagon’s sixth studio album, R.E.O, in June of 1976. I’ve mentioned in one of my other REO videos that the 1977 double live album, Live: You Get What You Play For is probably my favorite live album ever….just never really loved most bands live albums as much as their studio releases…this one is a major exception! We listened to the hell out of the double live album during for years after it was released….and I still love it as much as ever. I saw the band during this tour and they were off the hook amazing!

Someone posted on one of my other vids that Gary had passed and like so many other members of my favorite rock bands, it made me feel just a bit emptier knowing he was gone. I know many other fans were saddened to know we’d lost him….I wanted to jump in and make a quick vid for a song he sang lead on to honor his passing, and “(Only A) Summer Love was the first one I thought of. I made the vid for the live track….I think I’ll make a quick edit for the studio version as well. (I didn’t spend the time on this one to get the long guitar solo right for the video….I’m interested to see how the other one might play.) Hope ya’ll enjoy the song! This is my fourth video for an REO song…check out some of my earlier ones if ya feel like it! 😉

Live: You Get What You Play For is a live album by rock band REO Speedwagon, released as a double-LP in 1977 (and years later as a single CD). It was recorded at Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas, the Market Square Arena [1]in Indianapolis, Indiana, Kiel Auditorium in Saint Louis, Missouri and Alex Cooley’s Electric Ballroom in Atlanta, Georgia. It peaked at number #72 on the Billboard 200 chart in 1977. The song “Ridin’ the Storm Out” reached #94 on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart. The album went platinum on December 14, 1978.

[Lyrics}
Now there’s nothing left to do
But to lay my head down for sleeping
I’m weak with exhaustion and the lover’s blues
But I still can’t forget those weeks I had with you

But I guess it was only a summer love
Nothing too serious and nothing to last
I feel like your fool to be longing
For that lyin’ summer love

Once we both loved just a bit too hard
For deep down we both knew it was dyin’
And we both talked just a little about forever
But we both knew we were doing some lyin’

And I guess it was only a summer love
Nothing too serious and nothing to last
Baby, I feel like your fool to be longing
For that lyin’ summer love

Now the snow falls, freezing my hurt for you
But some nights I feel it is still there
I’ve come back now to the life I’ve known before you
But it doesn’t have the same old meaning

And I guess it was only a summer love
Nothing too serious and nothing to last
Oh baby, I feel like your fool to be longing
For that lyin’ summer love

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb6 Thumb7 Thumb8 Thumb9 Thumb10

…and linking to my earlier three REO videos (not sure if I ever posted them here before).

Sing To Me – REO Speedwagon (1978) FLAC Remaster 1080p

Blazin’ Your Own Trail Again – REO Speedwagon (1978) FLAC Remaster 1080p

Do You Know Where Your Woman Is Tonight? – REO Speedwagon (1978) FLAC Remaster 1080p

Leave a Reply

