That’s What John Said – The Motors (1980) Remastered FLAC Audio HD Video

That’s What John Said – The Motors (1980) Remastered FLAC Audio HD Video

“That’s What John Said” was released on The Motors’ third and final album, Tenement Steps in November 1980.

Coming off the recent video I made for Ducks Deluxe’s “Love’s Melody” I mentioned the amazing artists associated with the pub rock bands….I bought all these records back in the day, and The Motors were just a seriously talented band. I really like all their albums, there are loaded with great tracks….this was my favorite track off their final album. *There seems to be some debate if the “John” in the lyrics was Lennon or The Revelator (from the bible)…or some other John….c’mon the first time I heard the opening line “In my life” (the title of a great John tune, “In My Life”) I knew immediately we were talking about THE John! ;-)…and what kind of fun would a track about John The Revelator be anyway?! LOL!.the song is loaded with other lyrical references, but it does a masterful job of keeping them just beyond the obvious…..wonderful!

The video? Well lets just say the video was a very quickie…..as you can tell! ;-)…I actually had the video edited to the track ques much better, but the thing got mostly off and I never really got them back….there’s enough left for you to get the idea….but it’s about the SONG! LOL! Hopefully it’ll open the track to a few new fans. Peace atcha all! 🙂

[Lyrics]
In my life
I’ve been the sun,
Shining my love of life
I ever want.
In my life I’ve been the moon
Hiding my face away,
From day to day,

Now I sit alone at night,
Looking through the prophets eye,
The sun was in black, I saw the moon leave,
Down on my knees I can see…

Changes in the sky, just like John said,
Changes in your mind,
Changes in your eyes, that’s what John said,
Changes in your life…
That’s what John said
That’s what John said
That’s what John said
That’s what John said

In my time, I fell in love
Thought I was the only one,
The lonely one.
In my time, just like a rainy day
I blew the sun away, I blew my love away…

Now I sit alone at night,
Looking through the prophets eye,
The sun was in black, I saw the moon leave,
Down on my knees I can see…

Changes in the sky, just like John said,
Changes in your mind,
Changes in your eyes, that’s what John said,
Changes in your life…
That’s what John said
That’s what John said
That’s what John said
That’s what John said

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb4 Thumb10 Thumb11 Thumb12

Leave a Reply

