Some People Wanna Fill The World With Silly Love Songs. And What’s Wrong With That?

Silly Love Songs – Paul McCartney & Wings (1976) 2014 Archive Edition FLAC Remaster HD Video

“Silly Love Songs” was released in March 1976 on Wings’ fifth studio album, Wings At The Speed Of Sound. If you recall the summer of ’76 (sympathies if you don’t! 😉 you remember “Silly Love Songs” and “Let “Em In” were on the radio every 5 minutes! Of course there was so much great music in the air in those days!

I’ve been wanting to do a concept vid for the track, but until then, here is the official video touched up a bit (considering the footage that was surely available for the video…it’s pretty half-assed, I hope Paul didn’t pay too much for it! LOL!)…….the audio track uses the 2014 McCartney Archive Collection remaster for Wings At The Speed Of Sound….if you’re a Macca fan you would most likely appreciate the serious sonic improvements from the McCartney Archive Collections albums, these things sound amazing! This is my fourth video for a track from the album: “Warm and Beautiful” https://youtu.be/7mExY7R27fU “San Ferry Anne” https://youtu.be/Usw-QAAR3Xo “She’s My Baby” https://youtu.be/HcIlYOLk1QQ

The album was recorded at Abbey Road in two different sessions: first sessions took place in August/September and October 1975, with work resuming in January–February 1976. During the playback of “Must Do Something About It”, Paul heard drummer Joe English sing the song and decided to have him take the lead vocal. In “Cook of the House”, McCartney handled double-bass, while “Silly Love Songs” was arranged in a disco-style, in a similar fashion to Al Green’s “Sha La La”

Wings at the Speed of Sound was released in late March 1976 and received somewhat lukewarm critical reviews. Rolling Stone’s reviewer saw this record as something of a concept album, describing it as “A Day with the McCartneys”. The introduction, “Let ‘Em In”, is sometimes perceived as an invitation for the listener to join the McCartneys on this fantasy day, with explanation of their philosophy (“Silly Love Songs”), a lunch break (“Cook of the House”), and a chance to get to know McCartney’s friends (Denny Laine in “The Note You Never Wrote”, Jimmy McCulloch in “Wino Junko”, etc.).

The album went to number 2 in the United Kingdom (and was the 4th best-selling album of 1976). It became McCartney’s most successful American chart album, spending seven nonconsecutive weeks at number 1 throughout the summer (and blocking the Beatles’ then-new compilation Rock ‘n’ Roll Music, which reached number 2). Wings at the Speed of Sound sold 3.5 million copies worldwide.

Much of the album’s success can be attributed to its two smash singles. “Silly Love Songs”, a response to his critics and one of McCartney’s biggest hits, followed the album in April, and became one of 1976’s biggest-selling singles. This was followed in July with “Let ‘Em In”, which also scaled the singles charts. Amid all this, Wings finally went to North America for the Wings Over America Tour, playing McCartney’s first shows there in ten years (after The Beatles’ last tour in 1966) to euphoric reaction; a few selections from Speed of Sound were included.

Wings band member Denny Laine covered “Time to Hide” and “The Note You Never Wrote” in 1996 on his album Wings at the Sound of Denny Laine.

[Lyrics]
You’d Think That People Would Have Had Enough Of Silly Love Songs.
But I Look Around Me And I See It Isn’t So.
Some People Wanna Fill The World With Silly Love Songs.
And What’s Wrong With That?
I’d Like To Know, ‘Cause Here I Go Again
I Love You, I Love You,
I Love You, I Love You.

I Can’t Explain The Feeling’s Plain To Me; Say Can’t You See?
Ah, She Gave Me More, She Gave It All To Me
Now Can’t You See, What’s Wrong With That
I Need To Know, ‘Cause Here I Go Again
I Love You, I Love You.

Love Doesn’t Come In A Minute,
Sometimes It Doesn’t Come At All
I Only Know That When I’m In It
It Isn’t Silly, No, It Isn’t Silly, Love Isn’t Silly At All.

How Can I Tell You About My Loved One?
How Can I Tell You About My Loved One?

How Can I Tell You About My Loved One?
(I Loveyou)
How Can I Tell You About My Loved One?
(I Loveyou)
[Repeat And Fade]

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5 Thumb6

Leave a Reply

