I don’t want to fade away… In your heart I want to stay.

Bell Bottom Blues – Derek and the Dominos (1970) HD FLAC Remaster HD Video

“Bell Bottom Blues” was the second song on the first side of Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs, which was the only album released by the supergroup Derek and the Dominos, from the winter of 1970.

I had been working on a video for “Layla” and stopped along the way for “Bell Bottom Blues”! The mod dancer effects was from my “Wah-Wah” video and I’d pulled them up (recreated them to remove a couple of skipped frames that had gotten past me when I first made them ) for the “Bell Bottom Blues” video….the drummer album cover effect was in my “Layla” vid. I realized that these two effects might be used to make for a quick “Bell Bottom Blues” (my second favorite from the album)….so I planned on making a very simple video built around them. Of course then I find myself in a familiar and frustrating situation where I’m working two videos and can’t decide which effect to use where since I try to not cheat too much and like each video to look as different as possible. This was a pretty quick effort and the foundation of a much better video, but the upcoming video for “Layla” incorporate much more of the things I was finding along the way. (Not sure who that one girl is, but man she also looks great as “Layla” ;-)….what a great pic!) Hope you enjoy!

The collaboration that created Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs, Derek and the Dominos, grew out of Eric Clapton’s frustration with the hype associated with the supergroups Cream and the short-lived Blind Faith. Following the latter’s dissolution, he joined Delaney & Bonnie and Friends, whom he had come to know while they were the opening act on Blind Faith’s US tour in the summer of 1969.

After that band also split up, a Friends alumnus, Bobby Whitlock, joined up with Clapton in Surrey, England. From April 1970, the two spent weeks writing a number of songs “just to have something to play”, as Whitlock put it. These songs would later make up the bulk of the material on Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs.

Having toured with Joe Cocker straight after leaving Delaney & Bonnie, Carl Radle and Jim Gordon reunited with Clapton and Whitlock in England. Clapton attempted to avoid the limelight under cover of the anonymous “Derek and the Dominos”, with whom he played a tour of small clubs in Britain during the first three weeks of August. The group’s name had reportedly resulted from a gaffe made by the announcer at their first concert, who mispronounced the band’s provisional name, “Eric & The Dynamos”. In fact, Clapton chose “Derek and the Dominos” because he did not want his name and celebrity to get in the way of maintaining a “band” image. When the tour was over, they headed for Criteria Studios in Miami to record an album.

The source of the album’s eventual centerpiece, “Layla”, was rooted in Clapton’s personal life; he had become infatuated with Pattie Boyd, the wife of his friend George Harrison. Not even heroin, which Clapton had then begun to use, could dull the pain. Dave Marsh, in The Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock and Roll, wrote that “there are few moments in the repertoire of recorded rock where a singer or writer has reached so deeply into himself that the effect of hearing them is akin to witnessing a murder, or a suicide … to me, ‘Layla’ is the greatest of them.”

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art made this new art possible!

[Lyrics]
Bell bottom blues, you made me cry.
I don’t want to lose this feeling.
And if I could choose a place to die
It would be in your arms.

Do you want to see me crawl across the floor to you?
Do you want to hear me beg you to take me back?
I’d gladly do it because
I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day, please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

It’s all wrong, but it’s all right.
The way that you treat me baby.
Once I was strong but I lost the fight.
You won’t find a better loser.

Do you want to see me crawl across the floor to you?
Do you want to hear me beg you to take me back?
I’d gladly do it because
I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day, please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

Do you want to see me crawl across the floor to you?
Do you want to hear me beg you to take me back?
I’d gladly do it ’cause
I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day, please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

Bell bottom blues, don’t say goodbye.
I’m sure we’re gonna meet again,
And if we do, don’t you be surprised
If you find me with another lover.

Do you want to see me crawl across the floor to you?
Do you want to hear me beg you to take me back?
I’d gladly do it ’cause
I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day, please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

I don’t want to fade away.
Give me one more day please.
I don’t want to fade away.
In your heart I want to stay.

Leave a Reply

