Tiny Dancer – Elton John (1971) HD FLAC Remaster HD Video

Tiny Dancer – Elton John (1971) HD FLAC Remaster HD Video

“Tiny Dancer” was released in the winter of 1971 on Elton John’s fourth studio album, Madman Across The Water. I’ve been playing with vids for fav tracks from Madman for years, but those two songs (“Levon” and the title track) have been very difficult to finish, so I jumped into a song I knew I could get done using some old tried and true (and maybe getting tired at this point?! LOL!) techniques. I’ll continue to pick at those other songs from Madman (“Levon” especially is so damn elusive concept-wise…..wish me luck!)….but until then hope ya enjoy “Tiny Dancer”!

FROM WIKI:
John, Johnstone, Dee Murray and Nigel Olsson, who would be the main musicians on the next album (Honky Chateau), would soon join with percussionist Ray Cooper and form the best-known line-up of his mid-1970s band. As with all John songs during this period, the lyrics were penned by his writing partner, Bernie Taupin. This was the last album to be recorded at London’s Trident Studios. They relocated to Château d’Hérouville for the next three albums. Caleb Quaye and Roger Pope wouldn’t play with John again until Rock of the Westies in 1975, following Murray and Olsson’s departure from the band.

Upon its release, Madman Across the Water was almost ignored in John’s homeland, barely reaching #41 on the UK Albums Chart and spending only two weeks there. It has been the lowest-charting album of his career to date. The album fared better in North America, peaking at #8 on the U.S. Billboard Top Pop Albums and placing at #10 on the year-end list of 1972. It received Gold by the RIAA in February 1972, achieving $1 million in sales at wholesale value just in the United States. In 1998, the album was certified Multi-Platinum, representing shipments of over 2 million units in the U.S.

The title song was set to be released on John’s previous album Tumbleweed Connection. However, it was set aside and would eventually be re-recorded and serve as the title track of this album. Previous versions of the song (from the Tumbleweed sessions with Mick Ronson on guitar) can still be found, specifically on the remastered Tumbleweed Connection CD.

When it was released in ‘The Classic Years’ collection, it was the first album not to feature any bonus tracks. One known track recorded at the time, “Rock Me when He’s Gone,” was released on Rare Masters a few years before. The song was written for and recorded by one of John’s long-time friends, Long John Baldry. This was John’s first album in which he plays his piano and no other keyboards. This was the first album in which Davey Johnstone played guitar for John, a role that would continue for decades.

HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art made this new art possible….THANK YOU!!!! And THANK YOU!!!! for watching! 🙂

[Lyrics]
Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band
Pretty eyed, pirate smile, you’ll marry a music man
Ballerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand
And now she’s in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand

Jesus freaks out in the street
Handing tickets out for God
Turning back she just laughs
The boulevard is not that bad

Piano man he makes his stand
In the auditorium
Looking on she sings the songs
The words she knows, the tune she hums

But oh how it feels so real
Lying here with no one near
Only you and you can hear me
When I say softly, slowly

Hold me closer tiny dancer
Count the headlights on the highway
Lay me down in sheets of linen
You had a busy day today

Hold me closer tiny dancer
Count the headlights on the highway
Lay me down in sheets of linen
You had a busy day today

Blue jean baby, L.A. lady, seamstress for the band
Pretty eyed, pirate smile, you’ll marry a music man
Ballerina, you must have seen her dancing in the sand
And now she’s in me, always with me, tiny dancer in my hand

But oh how it feels so real
Lying here with no one near
Only you and you can hear me
When I say softly, slowly

Hold me closer tiny dancer
Count the headlights on the highway
Lay me down in sheets of linen
You had a busy day today

Hold me closer tiny dancer
Count the headlights on the highway
Lay me down in sheets of linen
You had a busy day today

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5

Leave a Reply

