I was in love with you…but you weren’t in love with me

You Weren’t In Love – Mick Fleetwood (1981) HQ Audio HD Video

“You Weren’t In Love” was released on Mick Fleetwood’s debut solo record,The Visitor, in the late spring of 1981.

This was another record that I associate with my record store job during college. We were excited to see Mick Fleetwood had released a record and of course deep down I guess we were hoping and expecting maybe Rumours II? šŸ™‚ Of course this record had very little similarity to the monster Fleetwood Mac sound, but it was definitely not without charms of its own…..George Harrison contributes some great guitar on the band’s update of “Walk A Thin Line”…..but it was this song that made the greatest impression and remains my favorite track from the album….partly due to the fact that it’s beautifully sung by George Hawkins, Jr. (a frequent presence on various solo Fleetwood projects….and ton of other things!)….and partly due to the fact that I happened to relate to it’s message greatly at the time when it came out. (Yeah, one of those songs that used to get played alot late at night when you were all alone and thinking about someone you missed…..you remember those don’t you!? šŸ˜¦

I love this video performance, the exuberance of the Ghanaian kids in their bright yellow costumes (not exactly sure what that was all about…but I love it and they are having such fun!)…against the very sad lyrics of the song and the singer’s emotional delivery.

There are a several other versions of this video posted…which use the original audio from the video (not exactly sure about this but I think the performance is typical lip-sync to the released track, but also features the boy’s percussion playing live over it…in the other versions their percussion is much more prominent (and although it’s fun….it’s also not always in sync and somewhat distracting). I wanted to use the remastered studio track behind this performance so made a few edits to make it work….and of course tried to clean up and pump up the video to look better in HD. Hope you enjoy.

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!!! And thank YOU for visiting!

[Lyrics]
I’m standing on the outside
I don’t know where I’m goin’ to
But I do know just one thing
I Know that it’s over with you

I’ve been very lonely
I did not think I could go on
I was caught in memories
And dreams that showed up

My friend, you left
Blind man could see
I was in love with you
But you weren’t in love with me

Suppose I’ll have to keep it, keep it inside
I don’t know why
But I know that won’t change it
But baby it helps if I try

My friend, you left
Blind man could see
I was in love with you
But you weren’t in love with me

Now I’m standing on the outside
I don’t know where I’m goin’ to
But I do know just one thing
Baby, it’s over with you

My friend, you left
Blind man could see
I was in love with you
But you weren’t in love with me

Oh, my friend, you left
Blind man could see
I was in love with you
But you weren’t in love with me

You weren’t in love with me
You weren’t in love with me
Yeah, you weren’t in love with me
Yeah, you weren’t in love with me
You weren’t in love with me
You weren’t in love with me
You weren’t in love with me

Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb6 Thumb7

Leave a Reply

