‘cos stars belong up in heaven & the earth is where we are. Oh yeah.

Dishes – Pulp (1998) HQ Remastered Audio HD Video

“Dishes” was released on Pulp’s sixth album, This Is Hardcore, in the early spring of 1998. This was a brutal beautiful downer of an album, but the tone and compositions were so much darker than their previous album (DIfferent Class) from 3 years earlier, the band seems to have lost many of the fans they picked up when the earlier album exposed them to many more people, as this record was not such a commercial success.

This Is Hardcore probably wasn’t what many of the fans who came onboard for Different Class thought they signed up for!? However, fans and critics weren’t frightened off by the dark grooves of despair and decay and recognized it for masterpiece it was. “Dishes” is maybe my favorite track from the record….thought that epic title track is hard to deny!

Pulp are one of maybe 3 bands from the 1990’s that I rank in my top 100 favorite artists, along with Catherine Wheel and Manic Street Preachers…they have produced numerous insanely brilliant albums and a string of masterpieces starting with their third album (1992’s Separations) and ending with their last (2001’s We Love Life)….that final album which seemed initially such a letdown, took even this longtime fan many repeated listens before it truly sank in….now it’s probably my very favorite the band ever released and therefore ranks very high on my list.

Pulp made HUGE music….that’s the best way for me to describe it….huge hooks, huge sound, huge drama….every song has a climax, some go over the edge more than once…I’ll stop now because the talent of this band has a tendency to make me go over the top with them!!!! 😉

I’ve started videos for numerous Pulp songs, but have never gotten one finished until now. Some of those earlier efforts are more involved and tedious going, so I decided to try something involving my latest category of video (“the toon vid”! LOL!) to get one out. And the result is “Dishes”…..I hope some old fans enjoy the effort…and that the video will maybe bring some new fans into the warm fold of this extraordinary band!

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art made this new art possible….THANK YOU!!!

Video (mostly) from Pulp:Hits DVD:http://www.amazon.com/Pulp-Hits/dp/B00006LSI4
….it’s cheap, it’s great….it’s PULP!

[Lyrics]
I am not Jesus though I have the same initials –
I am the man who stays home and does the dishes.
& how was your day?
Is that woman still trying to do your head in?
A man told me to beware of 33.
He said, “It was not an easy time for me” but I’ll get through even though
I’ve got no miracles to show you.

*I’d like to make this water wine
but it’s impossible.
I’ve got to get these dishes dry.
Ah…

I’ll read a story if it helps you sleep at night.
I’ve got some matches if you ever need a light.
Oh I am just a man
but I am doing what I can to help you.

[*Repeat]
& I’m not worried that I will never touch the stars
‘cos stars belong up in heaven
& the earth is where we are.
Oh yeah.

& aren’t you happy just to be alive? Anything’s possible.
You’ve got no Cross to bear tonight. Ah
No not tonight, Ah.
No not tonight, Ah.
I am not Jesus though I have the
same initials.

Thumb1 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5 Thumb6

Leave a Reply

