I’m not in this world to live up to your expectations

I Am That I Am – Peter Tosh (1977) 2011 Legacy Edition Remaster

“I Am That I Am” was released in the summer of 1977 on Peter Tosh’s second album, Equal Rights.

Peter Tosh always seems to get lost somewhat in the shadow of Bob Marley, but as great as Bob Marley was, he was an equally brilliant artist.

I actually came to reggae through Peter Tosh’s Bush Doctor album in 1978….browsing “The Record Hole” record store in North Star Mall in San Antonio, I saw that wild cover and (as good album art would do back in the day) bought the record immediately…..I had no idea what to expect, but when I finally got home (2+ hours from the record store to my house….man I spent some anxious drives back home after picking up some record that I was especially excited about! πŸ˜‰ and put the record on, somehow the music was exactly what that cover promised it would be…..and was officially INTO reggae. Bush Doctor is still probably my favorite reggae album, since it was such a powerful experience (I got a couple of vids coming from it one day if I can ever get them finished……I’ll talk way more about that record when those vids drop….such strong memories with that one!)

So as with all serious music lovers back in those days, a new favorite artist meant a sometimes long search for back catalog….eventually I picked up Peter’s first two records, but not until way after Mystic Man in late ’79….being a rabid music collector in a tiny Texas town in the 70’s was rough! πŸ™‚

I continued buying Peter Tosh albums until they stopped coming….hearing about Peter’s death (and in particular the manner in which he died…tortured and murdered by some thugs) was another of those surreal, sad moments that occur when a favorite artist is suddenly gone…..it was hard to believe, still is….a seriously underrated artist.

“I Am That I Am” is one of my two favorite tracks from Equal Rights and I’m happy to have finished something to look at behind it.

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art made this new art possible….THANK YOU!!!!…..and THANK YOU! for watching!

[Lyrics]

I’m not in this world

To live up to your expectations

Neither are you here to live up to mine, yeah

I don’t owe no one no obligation
No I don’t mean none
So everything is fine, fine

I said, “I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am”

Don’t underestimate my ability
Don’t definate my character
Don’t belittle my authority
It is time you recognized my quality

I said, “I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am”
I said, “I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am”

Learn to love to love your brother
Don’t covet your neighbor
Flee from the city it’s getting shitty
It is full of out-a-quity

I said, “I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am
I am that I am, I am, I am, I am”

I am the rock of the ages you cannot move I at all
I am the son of lightning you cannot move I at all
Son of Jacob cannot be moved at all

I am the son of Moses you can’t move I at all
I am the son of David you cannot move I at all
I am a firm ripe diamond you cannot move I at all
You could a shed more tears you cannot move I at all

You could a full of evil you cannot move I at all
You could a try more nuttin’ you cannot move I at all
And you can try make a something that can’t move I at all
And could a come with ism you can’t move I at all
And could come with skism that can’t move I at all

Thumb1 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5

Leave a Reply

