Solo Beatle 2fer! 1 from the “funny” one & 1 from the “cute” one (well…kinda)!

Lady Gaye – Ringo Starr (1976) HQ Audio HD Video

Lady Gaye” was released in the fall of 1976 on Ringo’s Rotogravure, Ringo Starr’s fifth solo album and his last to involve all his old bandmates before John Lennon’s death in 1980.

This has always been my favorite Ringo Starr album, and it still holds a special place in my memory because I used to listen to it so much when it was released…and I still do frequently today! Ringo had some other really good solo records in my opinion, Stop and Smell The Roses (1981) and, especially Time Takes Time (1992)…and most of his releases after that one, up to today, are actually quite good….but more often than not, when I listen to a Ringo album, it’s Ringo’s Rotogravure.

“Lady Gaye” is one of my favorite tracks, it’s just a really cool song, and I think a beautiful message…with a standout arrangement and great guitar solo Jesse Ed Davis. Jesse played on several George, John and Ringo solo records and his work was always special….this is my favorite solo he contributed to any of their work….tasty! 😉

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!

…and Special HUGE THANKS to:
https://www.youtube.com/user/SillyconDropMUA
for the really cool clip and pic!

[Lyrics]
Lady gaye,
I know you’ll never, ever change your way,
There is no one who’s been through more than you
And still come through with love to spare,
You really care,
You lovely lady, you.

Lady gaye,
You’re really not the woman you portray,
Well, i don’t mean that disrespectfully,
For you have always shared your home
With all who’ve come to love you like i do,
To love you like i do.

It’s time that all you people turned to look,
And take a leaf out of this lady’s book.

Lady gaye,
When morning comes there’s nothing left to say,
But you have shown me what life’s all about.
It’s time to shout your praises ’round,
They’ll never knock you down,
We love you, lady gaye.

Well, it’s time to shout our praises ’round,
They’ll never knock you down,
We love you, lady gaye,
We love you, lady gaye,
We love you, lady gaye, (love you)
We love you, lady gaye, (love you)
We love you, lady gaye, (love you)
We love you, lady gaye. (love you)

(i love, i love, i love, i love, i love you,
I love, i love, i love, i love, i love you,
I love, i love, i love, i love, i love you,
I love, i love, i love, i love, i love you)

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb3

And since it was on Youtube way before I started this blog….here’s my first Ringo video (for another track from Rotogravure) ….”Pure Gold”

Ringo Starr – Pure Gold (1976) [1080p HD]


Again And Again And Again – Paul McCartney & Wings (1979) HQ Remastered Audio

“Again And Again And Again” was released in the spring of 1979 on Wings’ seventh and final studio album, Back To The Egg. It was written by and sung by Denny Laine.

Each solo Beatle record release has some strong memory for me….in the case of Back To The Egg, I remember hearing the single “Getting Closer” before the album release and thinking that we were in for a really special record.

The album itself proved to be something less than I had hoped. In addition to the album, as was often the case, I also purchased the cassette (yeah, I did more than my share to support the music!)….and it was in my car that I probably listened to this particular record the most….and I remember spending more time fast-forwarding and fast-reversing Back To The Egg, than was the case with most albums.

Really although I listened to it alot, it never seemed to stick as an album…it was just too disjointed, there was too much variation, the thing didn’t seem to fit together….and it always seemed extremely slight. Even then it seemed that the whole was somehow less than the parts that made it up? Anyway included in the bits that I never fast-forwarded through (“Getting Closer”, the two medleys, “Old Siam, Sir” and “So Glad To See You Here”) was Denny’s “Again And Again And Again”….it’s still one of my favorite track on the album.

This video was something I started quite awhile back when I was experimenting with lower resolution video and some things that might make it look better. I cleaned it up as best I could and worked in some effects that I thought would work best with this video….mainly to highlight the yellow field around the band.

Anyway, although parts of the video look pretty good, the sky (in some portions worse than others) was a problem. I was so busy experimenting with the video I didn’t realize that I actually had a slightly better quality version of this video that might have worked better, and I considered a re-do with the better quality video, but by then I was ready to move on to something else, and didn’t want to take the time to re-render and match the audio from the higher quality version….I’m sure as usual, once it’s been up awhile I’ll regret not taking the extra time to make it better! 😉 Watch it at 720p on smaller screen for best effect!

[Lyrics]

No you don’t want to be the little woman
I love. No, no, no, no. I love.
Now you don’t wanna stay in my school
You don’t wanna be the one that’s cool.
You don’t wanna be the little woman I love.

You’re up all night and we can let it hang out right. (Yeah!)
I said good-bye to all my expectations the day you walked out of my life.

Winter time is coming now
Gimme a sign if you can somehow.

Make it clear where you’re heading for
Will I see you someday at my door?

Taking it all into consideration
Love’s a game I never win.
I’ve been in very simil’r situations,
Again and again and again.

Oh, no. Now you don’t wanna be the little woman
No, you don’t want to be the little woman
I love. No, no, no, no. I love.

Now you don’t wanna stay in my home
You just wanna be on your own.
You don’t wanna be the little woman I love.
Take it away!
[guitar solo]
Ah, yeah!

Well things were fine all the summer long
Then things changed, so where did we go wrong?
We can run but we cannot hide
In the greener grass on the other side.

Taking it all into consideraton,
Love’s a game I never win.
I’ve been in very simil’r situations,
Again and again and again.

Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5

Leave a Reply

