…and I moved…

“And I Moved” was released on Pete Townshend’s first solo album, Empty Glass, in the spring of 1980. The album deals with a plethora of issues that Townshend was struggling with, including alcoholism, drug abuse, marital problems and deceased friends.
Empty Glass also contained the devotional love song, “Let My Love Open the Door”, which became a top ten hit single in the US, along with the other (modestly successful) singles, “Rough Boys” and “A Little Is Enough”.

The album was rated No. 57 on Rolling Stone’s list of 100 Greatest Albums of the 1980’s. Gibson had a poll which rated the album at No. 5 for “The greatest albums released by an artist who was previously in a successful band”.

Started thinking about The Who when a cousin recently mentioned the possibility of a video for “Amazing Journey” (I’ve been picking at a couple of tracks from Tommy, but never gotten anything finished). The Who are one of those bands that the critics and most everyone else got into much more than I ever did (the exception being Tommy, which is undeniably an epic rock masterpiece of the highest order, and I also love many of their other songs….but just could never really get into their albums that much). Hope to get around a few of my favorite The Who tracks at some point, until then…..

…there’s this track, which was my favorite from Empty Glass, another of those albums that were hugely popular during my days working at the record store…and therefore forever etched into my memories of those carefree days of listening to music all day (and getting paid for it!) and then spending the evening listening to more music with my friends in college. I hope you enjoy the video for this great, relatively obscure album track. Thanks for watching!

As usual, HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!!

[Lyrics]
And I moved
As I saw him looking in through my window
His eyes were silent lies
And I moved
And I saw him standing in the doorway
His figure merely filled the space
And I moved
But I moved toward him

And I moved
And his hands felt like ice exciting
As he laid me back just like an empty dress
And I moved
But a minute after he was weeping
His tears his only truth.
And I moved
But I moved toward him

“And I Moved” was released on Pete Townshend’s first solo album, Empty Glass, in the spring of 1980. The album deals with a plethora of issues that Townshend was struggling with, including alcoholism, drug abuse, marital problems and deceased friends.
Empty Glass also contained the devotional love song, “Let My Love Open the Door”, which became a top ten hit single in the US, along with the other (modestly successful) singles, “Rough Boys” and “A Little Is Enough”.

The album was rated No. 57 on Rolling Stone’s list of 100 Greatest Albums of the 1980’s. Gibson had a poll which rated the album at No. 5 for “The greatest albums released by an artist who was previously in a successful band”.

Started thinking about The Who when a cousin recently mentioned the possibility of a video for “Amazing Journey” (I’ve been picking at a couple of tracks from Tommy, but never gotten anything finished). The Who are one of those bands that the critics and most everyone else got into much more than I ever did (the exception being Tommy, which is undeniably an epic rock masterpiece of the highest order, and I also love many of their other songs….but just could never really get into their albums that much). Hope to get around a few of my favorite The Who tracks at some point, until then…..

…there’s this track, which was my favorite from Empty Glass, another of those albums that were hugely popular during my days working at the record store…and therefore forever etched into my memories of those carefree days of listening to music all day (and getting paid for it!) and then spending the evening listening to more music with my friends in college. I hope you enjoy the video for this great, relatively obscure album track. Thanks for watching!

As usual, HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!!

[Lyrics]
And I moved
As I saw him looking in through my window
His eyes were silent lies
And I moved
And I saw him standing in the doorway
His figure merely filled the space
And I moved
But I moved toward him

And I moved
And his hands felt like ice exciting
As he laid me back just like an empty dress
And I moved
But a minute after he was weeping
His tears his only truth.
And I moved
But I moved toward him

 

Some alt thumb art:

Thumb1 Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb5 Thumb6

Leave a Reply

