Goodbye, goodbye, sadness

“Goodbye Sadness” was released in the spring of 1981 on Yoko Ono’s solo album, Season of Glass. This was her first solo recording after the murder of her husband John Lennon. The album was released less than six months after Lennon’s death and deals with it directly in songs such as “Goodbye Sadness” and “I Don’t Know Why”. Season of Glass charted at number 49, making it Ono’s highest-charting solo album to date.

The front cover features Lennon’s bloodstained glasses positioned next to a half-filled glass of water, with a view of Central Park in the background. A young Sean Lennon features on the track “Even When You’re Far Away”, recounting a story his father used to tell him.

A music video was created for “Goodbye Sadness” featuring footage of John and Yoko together. The video was screened on the first episode of Saturday Night Live’s seventh season.

I started thinking about a video for a Yoko song after finishing up my last John Lennon video (“Aisumasen (I’m Sorry)”) and a couple of friends commented about Yoko. As a hardcore Beatle fan for life, I’ve always been a bit surprised about how almost everyone of all the other Beatles fans I’ve known in my life (and I’ve known many! LOL!)…from high school, through college and way into adulthood…find her so difficult to take. I’ve always been on the side that considers her work quite amazing….she remains a hugely influential presence on many famous acts that followed. I actually purchased all her albums, and then sprung for the massive 6 CD boxset “Onobox” in 1992, which I still listen to occasionally. Granted some of her stuff is difficult, but some of it is extremely beautiful and melodic. This record takes me back to a dark place…I bought this album when it was released (and we were all still deeply despondent over what happened to John), and each track is a tough listen simply because they put me right back in that awful time…Double Fantasy is hard for the same reason, but this one is worse because it was after.

(For all my BeatlefanswhoarealsonotYokofans…you know who you are….please don’t taunt me further or I will crank out some more Yoko vids….maybe “Yang Yang” and “I Felt Like Smashing My Face in a Clear Glass Window” for starters?! 😉 For the many Yoko fans out there….enjoy the sadness. I love this gorgeous song…especially the haunting sax solo….still give me chills. Most of all, I wish John was still in our world.

As usual HUGE THANKS to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!!

[Lyrics]
Goodbye, sadness
Goodbye, goodbye
I don’t need you anymore
I wet my pillow every night
But now I saw the light

Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I don’t need you anymore
Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I cant take it anymore

Goodbye, sadness
Goodbye, goodbye
I don’t need you anymore
I lived in fear every day
But now I’m going my way

Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I don’t need you anymore
Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I cant take it anymore

Hello, happiness, wherever you are
I hope you hear my song
Never want to cry again
Or hold my breath in fear again

Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I don’t need you anymore
Goodbye, goodbye, sadness
I cant take it anymore

Thumb2 Thumb3

Leave a Reply

