It’s 2014, not 1964……time to send the Orcas back to where they belong. It’s happening.

“There’s No Way Out Of Here” was released on David Gilmour’s self-titled solo debut album in the spring of 1978. This was one of the first three tracks I ever started videos for (the other two being Bryan Ferry’s “Is Your Love Strong Enough?” and Brian Eno’s “St. Elmo’s Fire”). I bought this album when it was released back in 1978 and I guess I was hoping for something a bit more Floyd sounding…I guess that’s the main reason this song was always a favorite. Ironic that the most Floydian track was the one that David didn’t write. It ranks with the best Floyd for me….I still play it constantly.

As for the video, after the news about Dawn Brancheau’s death in early 2010, I began researching orca’s in captivity and determined to make “There’s No Way Out Of Here” using the subject matter…that sighing, anguished guitar seemed to match not only the state of the orcas, but their cries as well. I collected a few images, and searched for video clips, but there wasn’t really enough quality stuff so it’s been sitting since.

In 2010 I was saddened by my online trip into the anguish of orcas in captivity, especially the story of Lolita ( a beautiful orca that has been in a tiny tank at the Miami Seaquarium for 44 years). It was very depressing to read about these intelligent creatures living in these tiny concrete tanks…imagining the sonically dead concrete walls bouncing ringing sounds around the sensitive orcas…living this for decades, never experiencing the calming, natural sounds of the ocean environment of their true homes.

I remember first becoming aware of the new film “Blackfish” and thinking I probably wouldn’t want to subject myself to that experience again, as nothing would change. I only briefly thought about picking up the video, but just didn’t really want to go there. Then the most amazing thing happened…Blackfish became immensely popular and was becoming a catalyst for action. Finally, there seems to be a chance for change. It’s truly inspirational to see so many people unite in an effort to make things better for these beautiful, intelligent, and gentle creatures. Anyway, it motivated me up to finish my video….although I gotta add, this is exactly the type video I find it hard to watch and usually just stop, (if I ever start). I tried to contrast the brutal monotony (wanted to loop that stupid dance for a full minute to give us an inkling of what that reality must be….you can thank me later! 😉 of the existence in noisy chlorinated tanks in which these orcas must endure, with the vibrant environment of the oceans their families experience. Important to remember that these creatures only get a few “rockin’ fun & happy minutes” a day….and the rest of their day they look just like poor Lolita in that tank just bobbing up and down and up and down and up and down….damn, it’s just awful.

I hoped to shift focus a bit from prog to hard rock in 2014, but I’m happy that this is my first video of the new year. I hope you enjoy it.

As always a Huge thanks to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art….THANK YOU!!!

So, I hope you enjoy the effort…what was once depressing is now hopeful!!! Thanks Blackfish, Orca Network, and everyone contributing. We can make it happen…We can change the world now…We can make it better! Yeah!

Please visit the links to the source videos for clips in this video:

Daniel Azarian & Dr. Ingrid Visser
A Day in the Life of Lolita, the Performing Orca

Blackfish

Amazing Orca Dolphins leap from the water

Beautiful Orcas in New Zealand

Orca sounds

Please visit The Orca Network and stay current on the issue!
http://www.orcanetwork.org/Main/

[Lyrics]

There’s no way out of here, when you come in you’re in for good
There was no promise made, the part you’ve played, the chance you took
There are no boundaries set, the time and yet you waste it still

So it slips through your hands like grains of sand, you watch it go
There’s no time to be lost, you’ll pay the cost so get it right
There’s no way out of here, when you come in you’re in for good

And never was there an answer, there an answer
Not without listening, without seeing

There are no answers here, when you look out you don’t see in
There was no promise made, the part you’ve played, the chance you took
There’s no way out of here, when you come in you’re in for good

And never was there an answer, there an answer
Not without listening, without seeing

There’s no way out of here, when you come in you’re in for good
There are no answers here, when you look out you don’t see in
There was no promise made, the part you’ve played, the chance, you took

A couple of alt thumb images:

Thumb2 Thumb5 Thumb6

One comment on “It’s 2014, not 1964……time to send the Orcas back to where they belong. It’s happening.

  1. Outstanding song; outstanding post! By the way, I gave you an “award” for best video art in my post titled “Welcome to the 2013 Marie Awards”. 😉

Leave a Reply

