….most of us just dream about the things we’d like to be…

“Losing It” was released on Rush’s ninth studio album, Signals, in the fall of 1982. This album sounded amazing in 1982 and it remains one of my top five Rush albums. “Losing It” has always been one of my favorite tracks on the album, just a seriously beautiful song…..a gorgeous melody and truly beautiful lyrics by Neil….one of those tracks that, back in the day, I’d always have to lift the needle for a replay or three.

This is another one of those videos that I’d started so long ago, but just been sitting there unfinished…although I’d come close enough to give it a number in my video sequence at one time (#83..over a hundred videos ago!) It’s always difficult to go back into things that you started so long ago and make the video you’d originally started…usually I end up replacing most of the original stuff with different ideas and better footage. This one had some things I really liked and I just worked to exchange some of the 720p video for higher resolution 1080p clips. I liked some of the 720p stuff too much to exchange it for higher resolution, but I replaced most of the effects work with I’d done with the earlier 720p footage with new 1080p video…..added a few new effects and created some variations on those effects and it was done….basically the video I’d almost finished with a fresh coat of paint.

I’m doubly happy to have such an old video finished, and to have another Rush video (my 7th!) to share. I hope you enjoy the effort to this wonderful song.

As usual, HUGE THANKS! to everyone who’s art made this new art possible! THANK YOU!!!!

[Lyrics]

The dancer slows her frantic pace
In pain and desperation,
Her aching limbs and downcast face
Aglow with perspiration

Stiff as wire, her lungs on fire,
With just the briefest pause
The flooding through her memory,
The echoes of old applause.

She limps across the floor
And closes her bedroom door…

The writer stares with glassy eyes
Defies the empty page
His beard is white, his face is lined

And streaked with tears of rage.

Thirty years ago, how the words would flow
With passion and precision,
But now his mind is dark and dulled
By sickness and indecision

And he stares out the kitchen door
Where the sun will rise no more…

Some are born to move the world
To live their fantasies
But most of us just dream about
The things we’d like to be
Sadder still to watch it die
Than never to have known it
For you, the blind who once could see
The bell tolls for thee…

and some screen captures for alternate thumbs:

Thumb3

Thumb5 Thumb6

Thumb7 Thumb8

Thumb9 Thumb10

Thumb11 Thumb12

Thumb13 Thumb14 Thumb15

One comment on “….most of us just dream about the things we’d like to be…

  1. Beautiful! Rush is one of the few bands from the 70s that didn’t start sucking in the 80s. I need to do a post on them eventually. Great video, as always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

