…like a watercolor in the rain.

God I love this song.

Year Of The Cat was the title track from Al Stewart’s seventh studio album which was released in the summer of 1976. The album was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in London and engineered by Alan Parsons.

This song is very special to me….in my top 5 of all time. The songwriting, Al’s vocals, the guitar work is outstanding (Peter White plays the acoustic solo and Tim Renwick follows with the electric solo), Peter Wood’s piano was so important that he received a co-writing credit…..yeah it’s all top-notch work, but I think the thing that really made the song shine and made it such a stand-out classic was that gorgeous, melodic Phil Kenzie sax solo.

The cover design, by Hipgnosis and illustrator Colin Elgie, depicts a woman who has an apparent obsession with cats. She can be seen in the mirror dressing up as a cat for a costume party, and all of the items on her dresser have feline motifs. It’s always a treat to work on videos that feature some of that iconic Hipgnosis artwork…..I couldn’t begin to count the hours I spent scrutinizing some of the incredible Hipgnosis artwork as the record was spinning away on my turntable. I have some very interesting things in the pipe for you other Hipgnosis aficionados out there! Stay tuned.

This video represented a milestone for my….the 200th one I’ve created! Maybe 10 or so videos back I realized that I would be hitting 200 soon and started thinking about which song to give the spot. I had been working on a video of this song for over a year, and it was going nowhere slowly….then out of the blue, I stumbled across the amazing watercolor face and I knew I had my YOTC since my concept always focused on the line “like a watercolor in the rain” so I jumped in deep with that image and built the video up around it. It was a much simpler video earlier on, but it got wilder and wilder and I couldn’t resist adding more and more color and effects.

Special thanks to:
Annika Ritter Photography for her amazing watercolor that was the basis of my concept for the video
http://arfotografie.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/watercolor-portrait/

[Lyrics]
On a morning from a Bogart movie
In a country where they turn back time
You go strolling through the crowd like Peter Lorre
Contemplating a crime

She comes out of the sun in a silk dress
running like a watercolour in the rain
Don’t bother asking for explanations

She’ll just tell you that she came
In the year of the cat

She doesn’t give you time for questions
As she locks up your arm in hers
And you follow
’till your sense of which direction
Completely disappears

By the blue tiled walls
near the market stalls
There’s a hidden door she leads you to

These days, she says,
I feel my life Just like a river running thru

The year of the cat

Well, she looks at you so cooly
And her eyes shine like the moon in the sea
She comes in incense and patchouli

So you take her, to find what’s waiting inside
The year of the cat

Well, morning comes and you’re still with her
And the bus and the tourists are gone
And you’ve thrown away the choice
and lost your ticket
So you have to stay on

But the drum-beat strains of the night remain
In the rhythm of the new-born day
You know sometime you’re bound to leave her
But for now you’re going to stay

In the year of the cat

Lots of alternate thumb variations….made a bunch for this one and though they were fairly similar there were things I liked about each of them that made it difficult to chose which one to use

Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4 Thumb5 Thumb6 Thumb7 Thumb8 Thumb10 Thumb11 Thumb12 Thumb13 Thumb14 Thumb15 Thumb16

8 comments on “…like a watercolor in the rain.

  1. Another masterpiece! Congratulations on reaching #200! Your videos are always just stunningly beautiful to me.

    Also, I love Al Stewart! “Roads to Moscow” is one of my favorite songs. Would you mind if I did a post on my blog about your videos? Or re-blogged one or two? Giving you full credit, of course. I’d like for my followers to see some of your amazing work. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks so much for the kindness, Marie….your support and encouragement mean alot! Of course I’d be honored if you posted about my vids…they need all the help they can get to be noticed and ranked above some of the more popular static image versions of the same songs! πŸ˜‰ Pick some good ones of course! LOL!

      I’ll be over to visit you soon! Thanks again, nice to hear you’ve been enjoying the video efforts…..Peace & Love yer way always!

  2. Which video do you consider to be your favorite or your best? I’ll be sure to include that one in my post. I plan to do a “top 5 from MetalGuruMessiah” type of post. The first video I watched by you was “Time and a Word”, and it blew me away – I watched it over and over. I’ve been your fan ever since. πŸ™‚

    • Wow….tough question! I love and hate ’em all! LOL! Actually some of my very best ones are currently blocked – Pink Floyd’s full epic “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” is truly epic, cool, and (I’m biased of course!) very special; “Atom Heart Mother” is strangely beautiful and unique, “Time” is pretty nice (thought my original version with Pink Floyd tune is muted…you can either watch it with another audio source OR watch basically the same video with cover of “Time” instead of Floyd’s).

      Yes’s “Roundabout” is nice…..Genesis’s “Ripples” is pretty…Springsteen’s “The Promised Land” is one of my personal favs….Rush’s “The Trees” I like….Philip Lynott’s “Kings Call”, I like how “Year Of The Cat” looks (but ONLY in 1080p..it’s gorgeous HD, and ugly in standard)and maybe a couple of the earlier epic’s I attempted; Cheap Trick’s “Gonna Raise Hell” and UFO’s “Love To Love”…but ya know, Marie different people seem to connect strongly with different vids (as did you with “Time and A Word”), I guess mainly due to how the song makes them feel and the place it takes them.

      So whatever….if you prefer maybe other choices…go with what you like! LOL! Either way….THANK YOU! Truly appreciate the support and encouragement….sometimes it’s tempting to roll up my carpets since my videos get relatively few views…people upload simple one image “videos” and get more!? As I mentioned though, as long as a few great people like you can appreciate them and let me know..it makes it all worthwhile!

      Also last night I spent a few minutes on your blog….and I gotta say I was truly impressed, such wonderful thoughts and I was spellbound to read more….which I will and comment, etc. I’m very new to following blogs, etc. and yours will be the first I’ve really interacted with much, but I’m looking forward to visiting you more in the future.

      Peace & Love at ya!

  3. What a shame that the Floyd videos are blocked! I will check out the other ones that you mentioned. I watched Kansas’ “Portrait (He Knew)” earlier – love it! What a fine tribute to a great man (Prof. Einstein) and a wonderful song. I’d like to include that one for sure. Oh, and B.O.C.’s “Don’t Fear the Reaper” is so cool! I forwarded that to my goth-wannabe teenage daughter; she thought it was the greatest thing she’d ever seen. πŸ˜‰

    I know it’s discouraging when we feel that others are not seeing and appreciating our work, but as you mentioned, if we bring just a few people pleasure with our creations, and if we enjoy doing it, then it’s all worthwhile. I admire your dedication and persistence in creating 200 of these beautiful videos – hang in there!

    Thanks also for visiting my blog and for your nice comments about it. It’s really sort of a “musical memoir” – coming to age in the seventies and so forth, along with a few reviews and that kind of thing. I will be submitting my post about your videos in the next couple days, and I’ll post a comment here to let you know when I’ve done it. πŸ™‚

    Marie

  4. Hi, just letting you know I submitted my post about your videos on my blog. I plan to do a series of posts featuring your videos over the next few days. I linked your blog in my post, so you may get a “pingback” approval request by e-mail from WordPress. I think they send those out when someone puts a link to your blog in their post.

    Anyway, I hope you will like my post and have a nice weekend. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Like A Watercolor In The Rain… | I Want Ice Water!

Leave a Reply

