Flowers Everywhere!

We received a glorious and substantial rainfall a few days ago on the very edge of the great Chihuahuan desert!  In tribute to that sweet rain! and the flowers it brought…..and the colors of those flowers……and yeah, the flower girl!

“The Rain, The Park & Other Things” was released in the fall of 1967 on The Cowsills’ self-titled debut album. It reached all the way to #2 on the US Billboard Charts, tying with “Hair” from 1969 as their highest charting single. This is one of the very first songs that I can recall from my early childhood…it made an impression then, I still love it today.

The Cowsills is an American singing group from Newport, Rhode Island. They specialized in harmonies and the ability to sing and play music at an early age. The band was formed in the spring of 1965 by brothers Bill, Bob, and Barry, then shortly thereafter added John. Originally Bill and Bob played guitar and Barry was on drums, then John learned how to play drums and joined the band, so Barry went to bass. After their initial success, the brothers were later joined by their siblings Susan and Paul and their mother Barbara. Bob’s twin brother Richard was the road manager. When the group expanded to its full family membership by 1967, the six siblings ranged in age from 8 to 19. Joined by their mother Barbara, the Cowsills were the inspiration for the 1970 launch of the television show The Partridge Family.

The Cowsills released 4 surprisingly strong and cohesive albums from 1967 to 1971, their angelic harmonies and sun-kissed melodies elevated this music into the heights of bubblegum/pop. Recently listening to a couple of their records I was happy to find their hooks and melodies still gleaming in the sunshine as brightly as ever! There are numerous gems to be found in their catalog….if you are not familiar with their records and take the time to give them a listen, you may be surprised at how good much of it really is.

From 1968 through 1972, the band played an average of 200 performance dates per year, and were among the most popular acts on the American concert circuit. They were particularly noted[by whom?] for their ability to achieve four- and five-part harmonies with remarkable accuracy and relative pitch

I’ve been wanting to finish a few of the numerous “hippie” vids that I’ve had sitting around in pieces for so long…classic pop/soul masterpieces that always stand out in my mind as something special. Songs that always remind me of a beautiful summer’s day. Just alot of fun to play around with these type songs and fill the videos up with flowers, sunshine, clouds, colors, and girls! Should have a few more (5th Dimension’s “Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In”, Tommy James & The Shondells’ “Crimson & Clover”, The Brothers Johnson’s “Strawberry Letter 22”, & Donovan’s “Sunshine Superman” & Commodores “Sweet Love” already underway…for curious minds! 😉 trickling out between other videos through the rest of the winter to remind us of summer day’s ahead…..each (hopefully!?) more full of sweet sunshine than the last! LOL!

Till the next one….hope you enjoy this one!

HUGE THANKS as usual to everyone who’s art contributed to this new art!

[Lyrics]
I saw her sitting in the rain
raindrops falling on her
she didn’t seem to care,
she sat there and smiled at me

Then I knew
(I knew, I knew, I knew, I knew)
she could make me happy
(happy, happy…she could make me very happy)
Flowers in her hair, Flowers everywhere

(chorus):
I love the flower girl (I love the flower girl)
oh I don’t know just why
she simply caught my eye
I love the flower girl (I love the flower girl)
she seems so sweet and kind
she crept into in my mind
(to my, to my mind)

I knew I had to say hello
(hello, hello)
She smiled up at me
Then she took my hand
and we walk in the park alone

Then I knew
(I knew, I knew, I knew, I knew)
she had made me happy
(happy, happy…she had made me very happy)
flowers in her hair
flowers everywhere

(chorus)

Suddenly the sun broke through
(see the sun)
I turned around, she was gone
(where did she go)
and all I had left, was one little flower in my hair

But I knew
(I knew, I knew, I knew, I knew)
she had made me happy
(happy, happy…she had made me very happy)
Flowers in her hair, Flowers everywhere

I love the flower girl (I love the flower girl)
was she reality or just a dream to me
I love the flower girl (I love the flower girl)
well love show’d me the way to find a sunny day
(sunny day, sunny day, sunny day)

I love the flower girl (I love the flower girl)
was she reality or just a dream to me

Fade

Some screen caps for alternate thumbs:

1 3 6 8 9 Thumb2 Thumb3 Thumb4

 

2 comments on “Flowers Everywhere!

  1. Pingback: Dream Flower | My Butterfly Effect

Leave a Reply

