Happy Birthday Christine McVie….”Songbird”

For a true “Songbird”! Happy Birthday Christine….please don’t ever stop singing!

“Songbird” was released in early 1977 on Fleetwood Mac’s 11th studio album, Rumours. This was a hugely successful record that everyone (and I do mean everyone!) was playing after it’s release. The band had released an incredible album the year before (Fleetwood Mac) which received also received heavy radio play from several singles. Anticipation was high for the band’s next one, but I guess few people expected such a massive hit. The band had hit a creative high with Rumours that few other acts would/will ever attain. Although the songwriting, singing, Lindsay’s guitar and production were absolute perfection, it was the powerful and propelling rhythm section of Mick Fleetwood and John McVie (always the driving force and single element most responsible for making this band such a contender) that I believe contributed the most to it’s massive popularity and critical acclaim.

Rumours has always been a fairly easy record for me to choose my favorite songs from; the pair of tracks that ended side one; “Go Your Own Way” and “Songbird” and the 2nd song on side two, “You Make Loving Fun”….all the tracks were fine, but this was the great triad for me! Been thinking bout vids for all three and went with the easiest one first, “Songbird”. Think I have an concept to try for “Go Your Own Way”, so I’ll probably work that one up at some point, but no ideas yet for “You Make Loving Fun”….have to see what happens there….wish me luck! 😉

Anyway….as usual, I really hope you enjoy what I did with this amazing song.

Special thanks to:

Johann Mynhardt – Commercials / film Director (amazing songbird clip!)
http://www.youtube.com/user/johannmynhardt
&
Moving Art Channel (beautiful sunrise clip)
http://www.youtube.com/user/LouieSchwartzberg
….and of course EVERYONE ELSE who’s art created this new art! THANK YOU!

[Lyrics]
For you, there’ll be no more crying,
For you, the sun will be shining,
And I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right

To you, I’ll give the world
to you, I’ll never be cold
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right.

And the songbirds are singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before.

And I wish you all the love in the world,
But most of all, I wish it from myself.

And the songbirds keep singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before, like never before.

Some alternate thumbs: (not sure why I originally didn’t like the first picture enough to make it an alternate thumb for the video, but it caught my eye when I was uploading….I really like the composition and effect now)

9

Thumb1

Thumb2

Thumb3

Thumb4

Thumb5

One comment on “Happy Birthday Christine McVie….”Songbird”

Leave a Reply

