Storm Thorgerson Has Died Yesterday

His art was a huge part of my life. Storm and his partner,Aubrey Powell founded Hipgnosis and created many of the greatest most iconic album covers of all time!  I think his art played a huge part in developing my deep love for rock music….in the days long before music videos were popular, it was the album art that represented the albums and the music within.

Besides all the great covers Hipgnosis did for Pink Floyd, they created amazing covers for: Scorpions (Lovedrive & Animal Magnetism), all Catherine Wheel albums, Peter Gabriel (I “Car”, II “Scratch”, & III “Melt”), Genesis (…And Then There Were Three), Led Zeppelin (Houses Of The Holy, Presence, In Through The Out Door), Wishbone Ash, Yes, ELO, UFO, Strawbs, Styx, 10cc, Al Stewart, Alan Parsons Project, Paul McCartney & Wings….the list just goes on and on.

These album covers were always in my life and the work of Storm and Hipgnosis is a huge influence on my art. It’s these covers that inspire and challenge me….and being able to morph them into something hopefully interesting and worthwhile is the greatest joy I have with making the music videos.

Some captures from my Atom Heart Mother video…I hope Storm might have enjoyed seeing his cows create new art:

2

11 12 19 21 24 26 33 35 36 37 40 46 48 49 52 54 Thumb2Thumb4

Leave a Reply

